Meet the Filmmaker: Kathryn Gould, “Bound by Blood” (trailer)

BoundByBlood-posterwordsCIWF Filmmaker Interview with Kathryn Gould
Writer/ Director, Bound by Blood (trailer)

Q: Why did you become a filmmaker?

KG: I think it is just a natural evolution in my growth as an artist and storyteller. Film is a medium which fuses many different forms of art into one extremely powerful way of examining the human condition, and I rather like playing in that sandbox.

Q: What are we going to see at CIWF? Has it screened elsewhere and what are your plans for it?

KG: It is a trailer for a film that not only hasn’t been made yet, but the screenplay hasn’t even been written. It was created for a trailer contest for the Intendence Film Festival, which it won, and it is based on a story idea that I am still outlining. I’m very close to having a working outline and moving on to the scripting stage. The trailer has screened both on the night of the contest and at the Intendence Film Festival.

Q: How do you feel about being selected to participate in Colorado Independent Women of Film?

KG: I am very honored to be participating for the third year in a row!

Q: What are your hopes for the event?

KG: I enjoy seeing what other women filmmakers are up to and meeting other film industry folks in the Denver area. I just hope to see lots of good films made by some awesome women.

Q: How important is it to focus on regional women filmmakers?

KG: Well, it’s no secret that there’s a dearth of female filmmakers, and there are lots of theories as to why that is, but it certainly isn’t going to change without some effort at encouraging and fostering women who are making an effort in this biz. Many people wonder why there is a need for women’s festivals, and it is exactly that. Until the ratio of male to female filmmakers equals that of the general population, then there’s a need to encourage women in this field.

Q: Who would enjoy attending the festival? Is it just for the filmmaking community, or is there a reason why non-filmmakers should attend?

KG: Everyone should come out, certainly. We make films for people to see and hopefully connect with on a human level. Filmmakers and other industry folks can certainly five each other feedback, but feedback from the general film-going public is invaluable to us.

Q: Tell us one unique thing about you and/or your movies?

KG: Well, I haven’t made enough of them to really tell yet, I don’t think. They tend to be women’s stories, so far. Many of my stories are also based on dreams. One unique thing about me is that I’m a lucid dreamer, so I write stories as I sleep, in a way.

Q: What else are you working on?

KG: I always have 4 or 5 irons in the fire– I have a feature length comedy I’m finishing up and a play I’m in the process of rewriting for starters. Nelson Goforth and I are also in development on a web series, based on an idea of his.

Q: Where can people go to find out more about you and your work?

KG: www.kathryngould.com, or you can follow me on Twitter @KathrynGGould.

Q: Is there anything you’d like to say about Colorado Independent Women of Film?

KG: Just thanks to Eileen and Patrick for giving the women filmmakers of Colorado both an opportunity and a reason to strut their stuff!0

The trailer for Bound by Blood will screen Saturday August 17th at 9:00pm at The Bug Theatre.

Leave a Reply

