Meet the Filmmaker: Lauryn Guerrieri, “Roses in December”

CIWF Filmmaker Interview with Lauryn Guerrieri
Producer, Director, Writer, Roses in December
liquid luck productions | facebook.com/liquidluckp

meQ: Why did you become a filmmaker?

A: I never actively decided I wanted to be a filmmaker, it just sort of happened to me! I started with my parent’s handicam filming barbies and my siblings at the age of 10. I took classes in middle school and high school, making video projects whenever I could. And then I decided to major in film in college and here I am today! I became a filmmaker because I wanted to have a job that I loved.

Q: What are we going to see at CIWF? Has it screened elsewhere and what are your plans for it?

A: I’m usually just a producer, but Roses in December is the first film I’ve directed. It’s a true story that happened to my family and I concerning the death of my grandfather. This is it’s first real festival besides our school’s (CU Denver’s Cinefest), where it won Audience choice, best production design and best cinematography. We plan on continuing to screen it for the next year and then releasing it on DVD with a package of our other shorts.

Q: How do you feel about being selected to participate in Colorado Independent Women of Film?

A: I’m very excited that Roses was chosen for Colorado Independent Women of Film! Our cast and crew worked very hard on this production and it’s great that their work is getting recognized.

Q: What are your hopes for the event?

A:  My hopes for the event is that people take something away from my film. This is one of those films that you make for yourself and you make to get a message across. Death is such a taboo topic and it really shouldn’t be.

Q: How important is it to focus on regional women filmmakers?

A: It’s important to focus on regional women filmmakers so they can be encouraged to make more movies! Our film community in Colorado needs more contributions from women.

Q: Who would enjoy attending the festival? Is it just for the filmmaking community, or is there a reason why non-filmmakers should attend?

A: Anyone and everyone should attend the festival! Even if you are a non-filmmaker, it’s good to see the variety of films and how women can contribute to the film making community.

Q: Tell us one unique thing about you and/or your movies?

A: Something interesting about this film is that it was filmed in all the original locations that they occurred. All the actors represent someone in my family (names changed of course). And we filmed this at the same time as our other short film Back to the 80’s!.

Q: What else are you working on?

A: We just finished competing in the 48 Hour Film Race with our superhero film Villains Anonymous. Besides that, we have a lot of commercials, reels, weddings, and web based videos we are creating.

Q: Where can people go to find out more about you and your work?

A: Most of our work is on our facebook page: facebook.com/liquidluckp. And our videos are on vimeo: vimeo.com/liquidluck

Q: Is there anything you’d like to say about Colorado Independent Women of Film?

A: I’m very excited to see everyone’s work! It’s great having a festival dedicated purely to women!

Roses in December will screen Saturday August 17th at 7:30pm at The Bug Theatre.

Leave a Reply

