Meet the Filmmaker: Tara Tusher, “Aryl & Ybur”

1079251_10200846579421399_1718133212_nCIWF Filmmaker Interview with Tara Tusher
Writer, Director, Editor, Aryl & Ybur

Q: Why did you become a filmmaker?

TT: It started with screenwriting. I had just come out of UCLA’s screenwriting program when I realized that I didn’t need to sit around and wait for someone else to make my script into a movie, I could just do it myself. That’s when I got into short films and it was pretty much immediately that I fell in love with the process. There are so many resources available to independent filmmakers these days that if you are a writer and have not produced your own film you are probably just lazy…so get out there and make a movie!

Q: What are we going to see at CIWF? Has it screened elsewhere and what are your plans for it?

TT: Aryl & Ybur is a 6 minute dark comedy about the demise of an arrogant teenage documentarian embarking on the interview of a lifetime. The film premiered at the Indie Grits Film Festival in South Carolina and we hope to have the opportunity to play at more festivals across the U.S.

Q: What are your hopes for the event?

TT: My only hope is to see a huge turnout of filmmakers and film enthusiasts.

Q: How important is it to focus on regional women filmmakers?

TT: I think the real focus is on regional filmmakers, ie; what creative projects are surfacing from within our communities. Filmmaking is a collaboration and I bet that all of these films were a collaboration of both women and men.

Q: Who would enjoy attending the festival? Is it just for the filmmaking community, or is there a reason why non-filmmakers should attend?

TT: This festival is great event for both filmmakers and non-filmmakers alike. Art galleries are not spaces for artists, but for anyone who appreciates art. Likewise, this festival is for anyone who appreciates film.

Q: Tell us one unique thing about you and/or your movies?

TT: I get really embarrassed seeing my films play in front of an audience. It always feel like I’m watching a horror film, where you can’t look so you try to peek through the tiny opening between your fingers.

Q: What else are you working on?

TT: I’m in pre-production on another short film, Til Death Do Us Part, which is another dark comedy about a woman who’s taken hostage by her husband when she tries to leave him after 50 years of marriage.

Q: Is there anything you’d like to say about Colorado Independent Women of Film?

TT: Thanks to CIWF for putting such great energy into this event, I’m always in awe of the people that work so hard to make these things happen. In my opinion, this is a community service.

Aryl & Ybur will screen Friday August 16th at 8:00pm at The Bug Theatre.

Leave a Reply

